Free songs
Don't Miss These Posts
Home / What to Watch for on Wednesday / What Comics To Watch For On Wednesday, 1/7

What Comics To Watch For On Wednesday, 1/7

Hi, welcome to our weekly post where we tell you “What Comics to Watch For On Wednesday.”  We are doing our best to recommend a few titles worth your time this week.  It is good to note that we rarely suggest mid-run titles, because we try to provide good jumping on points or oddities that must be seen to believe.  January is CRAZY!!!  Tons of titles!  Check it!

 

spaceman

 

Our suggested offerings:

 

Wolverines #1

Wolverine may be dead, but crazy stuff is happening.  A comic book that features the entire supporting cast of Marvel’s most popular character promises to be interesting.  Check the solicitation:

Death is on the books for a dozen heroes and villains, and Mystique is playing chess with them all, including X-23, Sabretooth, Daken, Lady Deathstrike and more! Murder, mutilation, betrayal and trauma. None will be spared! Parental Advisory.

wolverines 1  

Feathers #1

Now, I have publicly stated that BOOM! Studios puts out great comics.  Feathers seems to be the next chapter in BOOM! Studios‘ tradition of putting out new and interesting works of graphic fiction.  BOOM! says we will love it because:

There’s never been a better time for fantastic, all-ages comics that embrace both the darkness and beauty in life. Fans of Avatar: Legend of Korra, Mike Mignola, and Amulet will fall in love with Poe, the boy covered in feathers.

This looks like it is going to be cute and there are never enough good, all-ages comics.  I also find books where one person is both writer and artist tickle my fancy.

feathers

 

Avengers: No More Bullying #1

I just want to see Spider-Man walk up to J. Jonah Jameson and shout “I’m not afraid anymore!” 

Avengers No More Bullying #1

 

Fungus: The Unbearable Rot Of Being

James Kochalka has an off-beat, unique sense of creativity.  His books are clever, but modest.  His books are out there, but wholly palpable.  Fungus seems no different than Dragon Puncher in this endeavor.  Here’s why The Man says you should read it:

Eisner Award-winner James Kochalka presents a forest full of cute but strange fungus creatures. They ruminate on a variety of topics, including such bizarre mysteries as ‘comic books’ and ‘philosophy’, ‘cyberspace’ and ‘redemption’. A surreal and funny outside look at the elements of our own reality.

Sounds trippy.

fungus

God Hates Astronauts #5

Watch Ryan Browne finish out the first arc of GHA strong with what promises to be an irreverent romp through space and blue humor.  

God Hates Astronauts #5

 

Ant-Man #1

I’m not sure if you have heard this, but there is a little movie coming out from Marvel Studios called “Ant-Man”.  In the grand tradition of Marvel trying to get comics to serve the feature films, we should see this series give us a decent preview of what is to come in the upcoming Paul Rudd masterpiece.

Ant-man #1

Swamp Thing #38

Charles Soule is good at writing comics.  If you don’t believe me, ask everyone else.  His current run on Swamp Thing has introduced entirely different, before unseen corners of the Swamp Thing universe into the zeitgeist.

Swamp Thing #38

 

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1

The unstoppable phenomenon has finally come to fruition in The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl.  Do you like Deadpool?  Well then have we got a female hero for you…Squirrel Girl!  The Great Lakes Avenger that stood toe to toe with Thanos finally gets her own series.  It’s just a guess, but I’m assuming it will be the zaniness of Deadpool mixed with the prepubescent power of Ms. Marvel.

Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1

 

Trees #8

Trees is getting crazy and there is blood in the air.  If you haven’t read this yet, go back to issue one and start.  Warren Ellis continues to be great… big surprise.

Trees #8

 

Operation SIN #1

So here is a wacky one!

Tying into the explosive events of ORIGINAL SIN, see an untold story from the origins of the Marvel Universe! After an alien energy source is discovered in Russia in the early 1950’s, it’s up to Peggy Carter and Howard Stark to find out what happened. But a newly-risen terrorist group going by the name Hydra also happens to be on the hunt for their own nefarious purposes! It’s only when a mysterious operative going by the name of Woodrow McCord enters the picture to aid Peggy and Howard that they realize just how far some people are willing to go to keep the Earth safe! Megawatt writer Kathryn Immonen (JOURNEY INTO MYSTERY) is joined by rising star artist Rich Ellis (SUPERIOR FOES OF SPIDER-MAN) to tell an all-new tale featuring AGENT CARTER!

Look at that laser rifle that the guy in the suit is holding…..YES!  Do I care about Original Sin?  NO!!  Guy in a suit holding that laser rifle…YES!!!

Operation Sin #1  

Hellboy and The B.P.R.D. #2

A fresh B.P.R.D. story featuring the character that Mignola used to launch the Mignolaverse!  I am in!

Hellboy And The B.P.R.D. #2

 

~ Scott Deaux ~

 

About Scott Deaux

Favorite Comics: Lazarus, Essex County, Chew, Superior Foes Of Spider-Man, Age of Apocalypse stuff, The Nightly News, Ultimate Spider-Man, Ultimate X-Men, Pax Romana, Avengers, NEXTWAVE: Agents Of Hate, Sweet Tooth, We3, others... Favorite Quote(s): "Journalism is just a gun. It's only got one bullet in it, but if you aim right, that's all you need. Aim it right, and you can blow a kneecap off the world." - Warren Ellis "People who hold signs go on...to hold many other things" - Eddie Pepitone

Share your musings...

Scroll To Top